PDA

View Full Version : 20XE Into Gemini

TUFF
14th June 2016, 08:56 PM
Hey Guys its been a while since i've posted here so here goes.

I'm building a Holden Gemini into an Improved Production Race car. Under this class i can run any motor, THAT, was used in a Holden, is 4 Cylinder and is under 2.0L. It doesnt leave a great deal open to me, i can stay the standard 1.6L Engine or go up to a G200 Isuzu motor which will need extensive work to be a quick motor.

Or i could go a 3sge Toyota motor ( Used in the Holden Apollo as a 3sfe )

Or a 20Xe Opel motor.

I have no experience with the Opel motor, the only motor i've worked on in Opel form was a c20sel. Needless to say i wont say anything else about that. Dont have anything nice to say and what have you.

Opinions on this conversion? Motor quirks etc and general opinion on using it?

This car will be racing Mostly at Wakefield, Eastern Creek and Hopefully Bathurst.

Cheers Josh

chris_r
14th June 2016, 09:39 PM
Well, the earlier TX/TC/TD Gemini was also sold as a Opel Kadett C throughout most of Europe and the Vauxhall Chevette in the UK market. C20XE conversions have been done on these cars, but I'm guessing these days they are few and far between, as the cars are quite rare now.

C20XEs are an excellent option for tuning too, with a bucketload of options available. As for making it fit a rear wheel drive, I believe you use the gearbox from a 2WD Rodeo with the 2.4 C24SE engine, as these are a slightly larger version of the C20 engines. Most of the earlier Family II engines share the same bellhousing pattern.