PDA

View Full Version : Hi all from Gippsland, Victoria

DesireaMay
1st February 2015, 06:58 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to OA.
I brought an early 1999 (January) holden astra ts model, about a year and a half ago, I took it to my mechanic (who I've found out is pretty hopeless). Idles were running low, he fixed that, said that the throttle body (?) was putrid. Been a great first little car for me. Until a week ago. I was on my way to gym, and it started surging, i freaked out of course haha.
Took it to my partner, had a quick look at work.
Then all weekend, we had a look, notice cam angle sensor wires had basically cooked over time and the plastic insulating the wires were falling off. I ordered one, took it to holden just to make sure nothing else was wrong, and it was just that. Then they tell me as the bloke was reversing out, boys noticed reverse lights not working. Was the reverse switch. Replaced that, all working now. Now I gotta wait for the sensor to come, and she'll be fixed again :)
This weekend my partner and i have just replaced all brakes and rotors, hopefully no more horrible brake dust everywhere.
Also will be ordering another serpentine belt. As mine has cracks all through it. Guessing that would be a fun job? (sarcasm) :)

Has anyone else experienced these problems?
DesireaMay

sskustomz
1st February 2015, 07:41 PM
Welcome! If the serpentine belt is that bad you probably want to do the timing belt and water pump ASAP too. Apart from that it will be a great little car.
Steffi

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

faneca
1st February 2015, 07:54 PM
Welcome along, once you have her running right she will be a cracker

guy 27
1st February 2015, 08:11 PM
Welcome to oa

DesireaMay
1st February 2015, 08:13 PM