PDA

View Full Version : Pod Filter and Exhaust

drewc
23rd January 2005, 02:53 PM
Hey guys.

Wanted to make some mods to the beast. Just want to get a little bit of extra performace and i would be happy. I realise that the following might only improve the kw's by a couple but what kind of difference is reponse will i get. I have no experience in this so your imput if you know what you are talking about would be great.

1) Pod filter - K & N

2) Exhaust

I know nothing about exhausts so what do i need. I just want something with a great sound and will turn some heads.

Also can someone confrim that a POD filter will be better than a panel filter. I know the pod looks great but will it be better and also heard pods are illegal and if the car gets pulled i could get asked to take it off or worse defected.

please let me know what i should be spending on an exhaust so i dont get ripped and what your experience with the pod vs panel filters and what the imrovements would be like

thanks

drew

thirteen
23rd January 2005, 04:26 PM
pod filters are illegal and if the cops pull you over, you will earn a defect. Also if u get a pod filter u will need to shield it from engine heat as they can't sit inside the airbox. Police will know, because its easy to hear a pod filter roar as you accelerate.

I would recommend a panel filter with a de-restricted airbox as it will give u similar if not better gains whilst remaining pretty stock looking. U will still get a little bit of induction noise with this setup if thats what you wanted from a pod filter.

The exhaust, a 2 inch or 2 and 1/4 catback exhaust with a small resonator and rear muffler of your choice should give a good sound. Canons tend to drone a lot more and i personally dont really like the sound of them.

goodluck :)

break
23rd January 2005, 05:49 PM
^^^ basically what he said.