PDA

View Full Version : New member from Vic

Matty1609
28th December 2013, 09:29 PM
Hi all,

New to the forums, just looking to meet some new people, talk some shit, offer some advise and what not, I'm a holden tech at the local dealer in town, anyways enough about myself, the stable of cars I currently have is a 2002 astra-g cd Z18XE 2000 VT clubsport and my misses has 2013 astra-j sport A16LET, and a VT commodore executive, so if anyone requires any information I may be able to assist them, cheers Mat

guy 27
28th December 2013, 10:38 PM
Welcome to oa

legsmatty
28th December 2013, 10:45 PM
Hi Matty. Welcome to the forum!

I'd love to pick your brain actually about my Astra J Sport (auto) that I got brand new a couple of months ago. Hoping you can shed some light on it from the perspective of a Holden tech as well as your wife owning the same car.

I'm really not happy with the transmission, and will be taking it to a Holden dealer in the new year. It's tricky to explain without sounding like I'm rambling, but it shunts & surges, doesn't select an active gear when you need it (most commonly coming out of corners and roundabouts) and just really detracts from what is otherwise an excellent car.

More detail:
- in low to medium speed driving, coming out of corners or roundabouts for example, you get back on the gas but it doesn't have a gear selected. By the time it gives you a gear, you've already built up revs, and it gives you a shunt.
- coming off freeways and coming to a stop at the end of the off ramp, occasionally the 2nd to 1st gear change actually surges you forward.
- slowly moving off from standstill - ie: if you just want to crawl in traffic without hitting the gas - it will shift into first with a shunt - I believe the transmission actually has a function where it always shifts to neutral when stationary. This is particularly problematic in carparks where you're maneuvering in close proximity with other cars and have had a few near misses.