PDA

View Full Version : New to Opelaus, 2005 TS Astra Owner

scottiepark
12th August 2013, 11:19 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm scottiepark and I'm new to the Opelaus. I have a 2005 Astra TS Classic Equip :woohoo:

I've joined this forum because I really need your help....

For quite a while now the warning light with the spanner through the car keeps coming on. It does not come on immediately, only after 5 to 10 minutes of driving and sometimes not at all, and it does not have any effect on the drive of the car.

I have taken it to my local mechanic (ultra tune) on about 4 occasions when it has come on and they have not found anything wrong with it when they put their computer on it. I also took it to a Holden dealer recently who also could not find anything wrong with it after a diagnostic check, and concluded that it was down to poor fuel quality because there was a bad smell from the petrol tank. My problem with this diagnosis is that the problem has been going on for a number of months, I've filled the car up in different petrol stations, (I always go for the cheaper petrol though).

I've done a pedal test and nothing has come up as well. I want to sell this Astra to upgrade my holden but worried no one will want to buy it because of this problem: How can I stop this light from coming on??? :mad2:

cheers
scottiepark

poita
12th August 2013, 11:21 AM
Welcome to the forum mate.

I would suggest running 98 octane for 3 or 4 tanks and see if it clears up.

Personally I have found both mine ran rough on 91 or even 95 octane fuel

adam_92
12th August 2013, 11:33 AM