PDA

View Full Version : De restiction of air box

wardy
5th December 2004, 01:53 PM
Does anyone know if derestricting your air box is illegal? Or what are the rules with reguards to your induction system.

mr_astra_retired
5th December 2004, 02:28 PM
I doubt it would be illegal .
As long as the filter is enclosed you should be fine. If you get pulled over i dont think the cop will want to look inside your air box to see if its de-restricted , if you got a pod , different story .

blackSRi
5th December 2004, 08:50 PM
Yeah, just removing an internal pipe doesn't change the fact the filter is still enclosed in the box, so no dramas, but then again, I'm not a lawyer!

RapidSRi
5th December 2004, 09:18 PM
technically if the work does not have an engineers report its not legit, but probablity of anyone noticing would be .001% I was pulled over with a pod whirring in my Mazda and they didn't even notice it cos the car was standard looking.

Benny-o
6th December 2004, 10:30 AM
I'm really not sure how de-restricting your air box is going to make any improvements at all.. I keep reading these posts and i still don't get it. I guess i need pics to show me wat is actually goign on but i doubt you're going to get any performance increase by removing an internal pipe in ur air box as ...

a) You're not changing the diameter of the inlet or outlet pipe, so no more air is coming in or going out, it'll stay the same.

b) The air still flows the same path, removing a couple of inches off the pipe isn't going to increase air flow, it's still getting drawn from the same point on the other side of the filter..

I just don't see it, the ppl who have done it are assured that it increases performance but i'm thinking it's really more of a placebo effect..

There was a post the other day about dyno results, only diff mod between 2 cars (after exhaust) was a k&n filter, which made something like .5kw difference i think??