PDA

View Full Version : Opinion on diesel tuning boxes

chris_r
26th August 2011, 10:01 PM
Hi all,

I'm aware that a few people on here have or had diesel Astras with tuning boxes fitted. I have a turbo diesel Hyundai iLoad van (I work as a contractor for Aussie Post) that's now out of warranty and was thinking of fitting one of these boxes to it. Only problem I'm having is choosing which one.

I see tuning boxes go for anywhere from $150 to over $1200, but I'm curious as to whether the more expensive one is really $1000 better than the cheapest ones. In my case I spent about $33k on purchasing the van new, so I wouldn't be fussed spending money on a decent unit, but I don't want to be wasting money I don't need to on a unit that may perform just slightly better.

So can anyone shed some light on this little conundrum?

sooty
26th August 2011, 10:11 PM
Some just act us resistors, others will actually take in the boost and throttle values to input fuel by raising the commonrail pressure.
I had both the greenbox and the crdt from dieseltuninguk on my astra, never had any issue at all with either and both worked extremely well. Both were also plug and play so could be installed or removed in a matter of seconds.
I'd check out if they have one for your van, it's a brand I trust.
DPchip also do some good Aussie based ones, but are more conservative on the power and torque than the DTUK ones

chris_r
27th August 2011, 07:15 PM
Thanks, I was looking at the DTUK setup. Apparently, the iLoad/iMax vans (in the UK it's called the i800) require a different type of box, as the usual methods won't work on these engines. For less than $600 landed, it sounds like a reasonable deal. Especially when I can apparently go from 125kW/392Nm to about 155kW/470Nm.

Wraith
29th August 2011, 12:47 PM