PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to Australia, with Barina V6 questions....

Sloth
6th January 2011, 09:12 PM
Morning all (well it is here...)

Thought I’d introduce myself, seeing as this looks like the only site to cater for the Barina (Corsa) that I can find. Names Rob but everyone calls me Sloth, im a 24 year old mechanic who currently works for the British govt. I currently live in Hull in the U.K, but I emigrate to Boolarra, VIC on the 15th of Feb. I’ve owned 3 Corsa B’s, and 12 Vauxhall Novas (Corsa A’s) with various engines. Ive also owned a Barina XC a stock 1.2 sxi, which brings me here. When I emigrate to Aus my intention is to build a project ive been collecting parts for and planning for the past 4 years. I plan to fit the c25xe from a Calibra to a Barina XC. I know this engine will physically fit, im more interested in the legalities of this, seen as the road laws and rules are very different (I think). Can anyone tell me whether this conversion is ok? If its not I’ll just turn it into a track car....

I also moderate a u.k based Corsa owners club, www.allcorsa.co.uk (http://www.allcorsa.co.uk/) as a tech mod.

So, hello!

Nurb608
6th January 2011, 09:16 PM
Welcome to the site mate, another victorian :D

I'm sure someone will come along with the answer your after pretty soon.

hazrd
6th January 2011, 09:19 PM
very good engine choice :thumbs: the most reliable calibra motor!

in short, it can be done over here no dramas, you just need to have it engineered so that you can prove to VicRoads that even though it is a different motor to standard, it will still meet the relevant safety/emissions conditons :)

good luck, and welcome :)

Nurb608
6th January 2011, 09:22 PM
very good engine choice :thumbs: the most reliable calibra motor!