PDA

View Full Version : Wash a car, but what tools?

sharkrules
23rd October 2010, 01:34 PM
Hi guys

Just planning to get my washed this weekend. Since it's my first time to wash a car, I'm getting serious nervous about it....

OKay, back to business. I am wondering will a sponge, a bucket, water and of course some cleaner do the job? Or if necessary, are there any tools which should be added in the list? Thanks in advance guys.

Oh, I forgot to mention, is there a good way to get rid of the annoy bird shit ?

guy 27
23rd October 2010, 01:43 PM
it all depends how much you love your car.

if your just wanting to wash the car. get a lambswool mitt, 2 buckets (one with soapy water the other to rinse the mitt before soaping again), a decent wash liquid ( i like the smell of meguires soft wash) and some soft mirco fibre towels to dry the car.

for plastic trim and tyre shine, try to avoid products with silicon. aerospace 303 is a good product otherwise if your on a bit more of a budget meguires natural shine is awesome.

if you get lots of bird shit on the car just remember to wash it off asap. also if you got a couple of hours every couple of weeks wax the car to keep the paintwork in better condition.

sharkrules
23rd October 2010, 02:10 PM
Thanks guy, you are always helpful.

I'm wondering that is it Okay to wash a car without using a hose? Because I reckon there are some restrictions on hose usage in NSW.

guy 27
23rd October 2010, 02:21 PM
ideally you want to remove as much of the dirt as possible before putting anything against the paintwork. what happens is that the dirt acts like sand paper scratching the paint.

current nsw water restrictions allow

The following are still permitted at any time:
Using a bucket or watering can to wash and rinse vehicles or water lawns and gardens.
Using water from a rainwater tank, as long as it is not connected to or topped up with drinking water.

so if you have a rain water tank go for it.