PDA

View Full Version : Insurance

Rusk
22nd June 2009, 09:30 AM
Hey sorry I wasn't realy sure what section this would go under. I'm new to all this and was wondering if I was to put a new exhaust and a panel filter is there anything I need to do insurance wise?

Brazza
22nd June 2009, 09:47 AM
They won't care about a replacement panel filter so you're fine there. As for the exhaust, apart from getting it put on your policy in case of damage, I'm pretty sure they won't care too much as it doesn't radically increase performance.

anyone correct me if I'm wrong.

Rusk
22nd June 2009, 09:53 AM
Thnx also I got 3rd party if that makes a difference

Wraith
22nd June 2009, 10:08 AM
They won't care about a replacement panel filter so you're fine there. As for the exhaust, apart from getting it put on your policy in case of damage, I'm pretty sure they won't care too much as it doesn't radically increase performance.

anyone correct me if I'm wrong.

That would be correct, but in all cases, best thing to do is ask the questions and check with your individual insurer :)

Fact is, it's not the same deal for everyone, for eg: what I could get away with in terms of mods is 10x what an 18yo. could get away with and my premium would be 1/4 or less of what the 18yo. would pay as well - so check with your insurer and go from there...if not happy, shop around ;)

Shay
22nd June 2009, 12:02 PM
Thnx also I got 3rd party if that makes a difference

3rd party only?
in that case there is no difference.

ive got full cover and havent told the insurers about my mods.

3rd party over pays damage to other peoples property

Wraith
22nd June 2009, 12:43 PM
3rd party only?

WHOA, be very careful there......

3rd party pays the other person only yes, BUT if it was your fault and you've caused a huge $$$ damage bill or write off to another vehicle and the insurance company finds illegal or undeclared mods on your car, they may use that as justification not to pay out...