PDA

View Full Version : Astra remote worn out buttons problem

vcar00
23rd December 2008, 07:35 AM
I have Holden Astra with very worn out buttons on my remote.
I wanted to replace whole remote but I was quoted ridiculously high price of $190 ! for a new one.
Friend of mine who drives Vectra just bought replacement buttons from this site that sells all sorts of buttons for car remotes. He also gave me a link to e-bay if I want to bid on set of buttons for my Astra. I am not good with auctions so I will probably buy it from manufacturer site straight away, since it is only small fraction of a cost of a new one. Here is the link to e-bay for some of you that like auctions:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BUTTONS-for-HOLDEN-ASTRA-BARINA-ZAFIRA-VECTRA-remote_W0QQitemZ200290642276QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_ Car_Parts_Accessories?hash=item200290642276&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

Any other ideas?:confused:

Cheers

JohnBu
23rd December 2008, 10:38 AM
that's great..

bid $10 for it, if you don't get them, i'm sure the seller will list some more.

FYI $190 for a key isn't that unreasonable, toyota charge that much.

try a BMW key cost us about $400. I'm sure there are brands which are much more.

JR
23rd December 2008, 12:35 PM
they cost so much cause they gotta be programmed to work with ur car n its immobiliser.

infact $190 is cheap compared to wat other manufaturers charge.
hyundai will ask $300 plus for a new key!! :eek:

USC
23rd December 2008, 03:46 PM
Programming is the cheapest part. Does not take very long!

chrissn89
23rd December 2008, 07:11 PM
Programming is the cheapest part. Does not take very long!