PDA

View Full Version : Phantom Grip Vs Quaife LSD

CNBLU
5th December 2008, 02:05 PM
Im stuck with a dilema and need some advice.

Although this topic has been covered before (i think) i wanted to know your views on the matter.

Let me know which you would prefer and why?

Calibrated
5th December 2008, 02:11 PM
cant really comment on the phantom.

but experience with the quaife on the turbo cali... its awesome.

thats my very technical write up. lol

poita
5th December 2008, 02:17 PM
i have no personal experience with either, sorry Gav.
but from what i've been looking at, and what ppl have said the Quaife is the way to go.
a lot of opels i have seen read about have the quaife, i know of a couple of calibras in auz with them ;)
its the path i will be looking down for mine :)

nuggz
5th December 2008, 02:27 PM
Phantom sounds way cooler :D
(sorry for the spam)

gman
5th December 2008, 03:21 PM
See post in other thread, but I have the PG and choose it over the Quaife, and not due to cost (that wasn't an issue).

I prefer the way it feels when driving the way it locks up under load and it also (subjective analysis) feels more stable in the way it transfers torque between the wheels.

There has been some bad reports about the PG regarding it "chewing" up the spider gears and/or the input shafts. This IMHO is more down to bad installation then the product itself.

Mines been in for 2 years and 40,000km's. Still working and as I said in the other thread I have dropped half the gearbox oil to check for filings, fragments or signs of increased wear. So far, nothing to report.

If you can afford the Quaife and aren't as particular as me with the feeling of the way they lock up get it, its a fantastic product and it works. Personally I prefer the PG and the way it operates.

Both take about the same amount of time to fit and are a gearbox out proposition. The reduced cost of the PG is just a nice side point, not the main selling point.