PDA

View Full Version : SRi Advice

Benny_SRi
4th April 2007, 09:16 PM
Hello all,

My names Ben and im a student from Sydney.

I have just purchased an Astra SRi 2002 with 114,000km on the clock.

Today as i started-up the car i noticed a very loud noise coming from the left hand side of the engine.

After doing some research, i have come to the conclusion that this has to be the timing chain, or rather the chain tensioner.

I drove the car home very carefully (<1km @ 20km/h), and gritted my teeth as the noise went on.

Question is, where to from here?

Im assuming i need that nozzle replacement kit, but is there anything else i need to know, so i go to the mechanic well advised.

Any help would or advice would be very appreciated.

Ben

SKM_87
4th April 2007, 09:23 PM
timing chain would be due by now rite??

Benny_SRi
4th April 2007, 09:29 PM
timing chain would be due by now rite??

Well, thats what im confused about - chain or tensioner, perhaps both with the addition of the nozzle kit.

daaaaavek
4th April 2007, 09:36 PM
I assume you bought the non-turbo 2.2 .. ? Depending on when it was built you may not have the smaller oiler nozzle. If it's on it's original chain it may very well need new guides - while that's happening it can't hurt to get a whole new chain. Better to spend the money now, rather than thousands later if the chain should snap.

Benny_SRi
4th April 2007, 09:41 PM
I assume you bought the non-turbo 2.2 .. ? Depending on when it was built you may not have the smaller oiler nozzle. If it's on it's original chain it may very well need new guides - while that's happening it can't hurt to get a whole new chain. Better to spend the money now, rather than thousands later if the chain should snap.

Yep, its the 2.2 non-turbo. From the sounds of it im lucky, perhaps, that the flippin chain didnt snappo.

Quite annoying though that Holden/Opel have been giving people curry about the issue.

Benny_SRi
4th April 2007, 10:19 PM