PDA

View Full Version : When are we going to see AWD Opels & Holdens?

vectra_zc
1st November 2006, 08:43 PM
When are we going to see AWD Opels & Holdens?

To be honest, I can't believe they are still doing FWD from Opel.
Interestingly the new VE Commodore hasn't got a AWD variant as an option. I would have thought that was a given.

On a side note, I hear Holdens attempt at AWD with the Adventra was full dodgy. In that the design of the AWD system was very primitive. Not that I am a tech head or support the comment but it is common opinion Holdens AWD system isn't a legit AWD system.

Anyway, interested in your thoughts and any info on introducing AWD models.

Wattie
1st November 2006, 08:52 PM
erm holden captiva??

auzvectra
1st November 2006, 09:07 PM
i think it was a rwd system that called on front wheels when needed, i think the biggest issue with it was the high fuel consumption.

vectra_zc
1st November 2006, 09:10 PM
erm holden captiva??

Wow! A SUV with AWD. No wonder it can climb tall buildings in the advert. Gee that is an innovation...............!

:eek:

one2have
1st November 2006, 09:19 PM
Wow! A SUV with AWD. No wonder it can climb tall buildings in the advert. Gee that is an innovation...............!

:eek:

Do I detect some sarcasm?

Adventura wasn't that bad - if you really need to have a large Holden AWD that is. Other option is the HSV Coupe4.

bill142
1st November 2006, 09:48 PM
You won't see any on current platforms. I highly doubt that AWD has been factored into many of the Opel platforms. A high powered Astra with AWD at a reasonable price (probablt VXR pricing and power) would be a serious competitor to the WRX.

The old Commodore platform was not AWD ready and the coupe 4 and Adventura were simply modified to suit, however they were not ideal. The coupe4 wasn't as powerful as its rwd counterpart due to restrictions placed on the exhaust cause of the awd.